

April 28, 2017

President and Representative Director: Gyo Sagara

Code No: 4528 at the 1st section of the Tokyo Stock Exchange

INQUIRIES: Yukio Tani, Corporate Officer, Director, Corporate Communications

public relations@ono.co.jp

Announcement on Candidates of Members of the Board of Directors and Corporate Officers

ONO PHARMACEUTICAL CO., LTD. (Osaka, Japan; President and Representative Director, Gyo Sagara; "ONO") announced that its Board of Directors meeting held on April 28, 2017 decided the candidates of Members of the Board of Directors and Corporate Officers.

The candidates of Members of the Board of Directors will be submitted for approval to the 69th Annual Shareholders Meeting to be held late June 2017. The changes and appointments of Members of the Board of Directors and Corporate Officers will be resolved at the Board of Directors meeting to be held on the same day of the Annual Shareholders Meeting.

- Changes of Members of the Board of Directors (as of late June 2017):
 Incumbent Members of the Board of Directors will be re-appointed.
 Yutaka Kato and Jun Kurihara, both incumbent Outside Director will be re-appointed.
- 2. Changes of Corporate Officers (as of late June 2017):

Except for the following candidates of Corporate Officers, incumbent Corporate Officers will be re-appointed.

New candidates of Corporate Officer

Executive officer

Hiroshi Ichikawa, Director, Sales and Marketing

Corporate Officer

Katsunori Morio, Executive Director, Metropolitan area First Branch

< Reference >

The followings are the appointments of Members of the Board of Directors, Audit & Supervisory Board Members as well as Corporate Officers (as of late June 2017).

*: Candidates of Members of the Board of Directors for subject to approval at the 69th Annual Shareholders Meeting

Members of the Board of Directors:

- Gyo Sagara, President, Representative Director, and Chief Executive Officer *
- Hiroshi Awata, Vice President Executive Officer, Executive Director, Clinical Development *
- Kei Sano, Senior Executive Officer, Executive Director, Corporate Management *
- Kazuhito Kawabata, Executive Officer, Executive Director, Corporate Regulatory Compliance Safety and Quality *
- Isao Ono, Executive Officer, Director, Corporate Research *
- Yutaka Kato, Outside Director *
- Jun Kurihara, Outside Director *

Audit & Supervisory Board Members:

- Katsuyoshi Nishimura, Audit & Supervisory Board Member
- Shinji Fujiyoshi, Audit & Supervisory Board Member
- Hiromi Sakka, Outside Audit & Supervisory Board Member
- Yasuo Hishiyama, Outside Audit & Supervisory Board Member

Corporate Officers:

- Hiroshi Ichikawa, Corporate Officer, Executive Director, Sales and Marketing
- Shozo Matsuoka, Corporate Officer, Director, Nivolumab Strategic Planning & Chairman, Scientific Review Committee of R&D Programs
- Toichi Takino, Corporate Officer, Executive Director, Corporate Development & Strategy
- Katsuji Teranishi, Corporate Officer/Director, Kyusyu-Okinawa Branch
- Takuya Seko, Corporate Officer, Executive Director, CMC Production & CMC Research
- Yukio Tani, Corporate Officer, Director, Corporate Communications
- Toshihiro Tsujinaka, Corporate Officer, Business Unit Director, Oncology Business Unit, Sales and Marketing
- Hiromu Habashita, Corporate Officer, Executive Director, Discovery and Research
- Katsunori Morio, Corporate Officer, Executive Director, Metropolitan area First Branch